Mockingbirds
Every renewal turns on a discount nobody outside the contract could verify. That changed this year, and the check takes an evening.
Every network sings the same song about its discounts. Every hospital sings the same song about what it means to its community. Both songs are usually sincere, neither has been checkable, and the employer paying for all of it has been choosing between them on faith.
My local hospital sold.
Fauquier Health sits in Warrenton, forty-five minutes from Washington, and in 2026 it agreed to join Bon Secours Mercy Health [1]. I do this for a living, and the curious version of me wanted a snapshot: what does this hospital charge, and what does it actually get paid, on the day before it becomes part of somebody else’s system.
Before I get to what I found, I want to be careful about where I point. Both of those claims are usually sincere, both have been effectively unfalsifiable, and neither party had much reason to stop making them.
Most plan sponsors already know that hospital prices vary widely. Few have had an easy way to see by how much, in their own geography, for free. Everyone can now, because of the machine-readable file: a spreadsheet every hospital in the country has to publish, listing what it charges and what each insurer has agreed to pay. It is public, it is free, and almost nobody opens it.
What follows is a cross-walk of what five insurers were actually paid at nine Virginia hospitals for the same handful of conditions. On one sepsis admission, a single carrier’s paid amount runs 3.8 times higher at one building than at another. It was put together in an evening, out of those files, starting the day the sale was reported.
Three questions worth holding as you read.
- Play with the data in the chart below. How does this shape the way you think about navigating care?
- What have you actually deployed to help members navigate it?
- If network choice is not the lever, what is? (read on for the answer)
Two things we have been told
Call your local hospital today and ask what a service costs. The answer is almost always the same: it depends on your insurance.
For a decade the received wisdom has run on two tracks, and both are supported by real work.
The first is that rural hospitals are failing. Chartis counts 417 rural hospitals vulnerable to closure and 41.2% operating in the red, with 206 closed outright or converted away from inpatient care since 2010 [2].
The second is that acquisition raises what care costs. Lewis and Pflum examined 81 out-of-market acquisitions and found prices at the acquired hospital rose roughly 17%, with nearby competitors up about 8%, and the effect larger when the hospital being bought was a small one [3].
Both are credible. Neither tells you what happened at any particular hospital. Prices were not public, so whether a specific deal helped or hurt a specific community was argued from position rather than from record.
That is the part that changed. It is most of what this piece is about.
Ten years, briefly
Fauquier carried roughly $90 million of debt when it sold 80% of itself to LifePoint Hospitals in a $250 million deal that closed in October 2013. The debt went away and the PATH Foundation was capitalized with more than $100 million [4]. By 2017 the operating margin had gone from 2.87% to 17.9% while full-time staffing fell from 771 to 631 [5]. LifePoint bought the community’s remaining 20% in 2018, and Apollo Global Management took LifePoint itself private later that year [6].
This is not a distressed rural hospital. It is a profitable one, and has been for most of the last decade.
A margin does not move like that on its own. It can only come from price, acuity, volume, or the cost of running the place. Volume is ruled out: staffing fell by 140 and revenue peaked in 2014, lower by 2017 [5]. Unless the county got measurably sicker, what is left is that care got cheaper to deliver, or dearer to buy, or both. That is an inference from an accounting identity, not a finding.
What the record cannot answer at all is what any of it did to the price of care here, because in 2013 there was no price to look at. The obligation to publish did not exist until 2021. The question every employer paying for coverage here would want answered has no baseline. It cannot be asked backwards.
Which is exactly why it is worth asking forwards. The hospital is changing hands again. This time the file exists.
The snapshot, and why anyone can take one
I did not need a data vendor, a relationship, or anybody’s permission to take that snapshot. Since January 2021 every hospital in the country has had to publish its negotiated prices under 45 CFR 180. And since January 2026, under the CY2026 outpatient payment rule, a hospital that prices a contract as a percentage of billed charges has also had to publish the median amount it was actually allowed on that service, with the 10th and 90th percentile and the number of claims behind them, drawn from its own remittance data over a twelve to fifteen month lookback [7].
That second requirement is the one that matters. A negotiated rate is what a contract says. A median allowed amount is what the money did.
So I pulled nine nearby Virginia hospitals rather than one. Fauquier, two Bon Secours facilities, two Inova, two Sentara and two UVA, captured August 20 and 21, 2026. Together they carry 354 group commercial contract rates and 127 published allowed amounts across six services: three inpatient admissions, an appendectomy, an echocardiogram and an hour of infusion. Everything below comes out of those files.
Read this before you read the chart
- This is a dated snapshot, not a live feed. Every figure was captured on August 20 and 21, 2026 from files the hospitals dated between March 24 and July 14, 2026. These files are republished and they change. Nothing here should be quoted without its capture date attached.
- Group commercial only. Exchange, marketplace and individual products are filed in these same files and are excluded everywhere here, on the chart as well as in the tables, because this is a question about employer coverage. Where a carrier files more than one group plan at a building the figures average them, since the nine files do not label HMO, PPO and POS consistently enough to match one to one across all of them.
- Two different numbers live in these files and they are not interchangeable. A negotiated rate is what a contract specifies. A median allowed amount is what the hospital reports it was actually paid. The tabs are labeled accordingly, and the second is the one worth quoting.
- Small counts are suppressed, and most of these are. CMS lets a hospital report any count under eleven as “1 through 10” rather than the figure. Of the 127 allowed amounts here, 72 are suppressed that way. Every Fauquier median is one of them. The hip fracture lane has no unsuppressed count at any hospital, which is why that code should be read on the rate tab and not the paid one.
- Facility only. No professional fees, no separately billed drugs, no behavioral carve-outs. The surgeon, the radiologist and the anesthetist are not in any of this. It is the reason maternity and imaging were cut from the chart rather than shown: on those two the facility line is the smallest part of what the episode actually costs.
- Price is not spend. None of it speaks to utilization, which is where a plan actually wins or loses a year, and it says nothing about what a deductible increase saves against the same claims.
- The source file is the arbiter, not me. The nine raw files, the extracted dataset and the arithmetic behind every figure are published alongside this piece. If a figure here conflicts with one you hold, or with one a hospital or carrier quotes back at you, go to the file and the line it came from. I would rather be corrected against the record than agreed with on trust.
The commercial rates on file, one service at a time
Each dot is one payer contract. Position is the rate the contract specifies, which is not the same as what the plan actually paid. For that, see the last tab. The axis is logarithmic, because the range inside a single market spans more than one order of magnitude. Eight lanes rather than nine. Inova Fairfax is held for the sister-hospital tab, because it files the same rows as Inova Fair Oaks and a second identical lane would only pad this one.
How the codes and carriers were chosen, and what the dots do not include
What the plans actually paid
Same chart, different number. Since January 2026 a hospital that prices a contract as a percentage or a formula has also had to publish the median amount it was actually allowed on that service, taken from its own remittance data over a twelve to fifteen month lookback. Each dot here is one of those published medians. Nothing on this tab is calculated.
Four systems, four sister pairs, four different answers
A quaternary referral center and a community hospital twenty miles apart file the same 21,427 rows in the same order under the same tax ID. Compared cell by cell across all 320 columns, 98.4575% of cells match exactly. The differences are not evenly spread: the gross charge column differs on only 24 rows out of 21,427, while the Anthem and UnitedHealthcare negotiated-dollar columns differ on several thousand each. The table below shows where. Inova Fairfax appears here rather than on the ladder, since a second lane of the same file would only pad the comparison.
Paired lanes show the same service at both hospitals in a system. Where a dot appears in one lane and not the other, only one facility publishes that contract.
Where the two Inova files actually diverge
| Column | Rows differing | Share of file |
|---|
The Bon Secours pair behaves the opposite way. St. Francis and Rappahannock General file separately, at different row counts, and neither publishes a commercial dollar figure for any outpatient CPT code on this chart. There is nothing to pair on the outpatient side. The Sentara pair sits between the two: separate files, separate rates, and both publishing real dollars on inpatient and outpatient alike. The UVA pair is the fourth answer. Haymarket and the Charlottesville academic center file separately, at 482,614 and 2,241,494 rows, and both publish a dollar on nearly every commercial line, which no other pair on this chart does.
The hospital that is being sold, and the system buying it
Fauquier Health is under contract to join Bon Secours Mercy Health. These are the two filers side by side, on the codes where a comparison is possible at all.
What each one charges before any contract applies
| Service | Fauquier gross | St. Francis gross | Difference |
|---|
Gross charge is the chargemaster, the number a percent‑of‑charges contract multiplies. On outpatient services Bon Secours charges less than Fauquier does.
The chargemaster is the price
Fauquier prices 143,325 of its commercial rate rows as a percent of total billed charges, against 20,048 on a fee schedule and 5,645 on a case rate. Each contract carries a small number of percentages. At Fauquier, Cigna’s HMO and PPO both sit at 82.5% of billed charges across settings, Aetna files 58.3% on one plan and 70.8% on another, and UnitedHealthcare’s all‑payer line is 44%. Whatever the chargemaster says, multiply.
| Commercial contract | Percent of billed charges | Applied to this service |
|---|
Head to head, where both publish something
| Service | Filer | Low | Median | High | Contracts |
|---|
The same rule produced five different disclosures
All nine files claim compliance with 45 CFR 180.50 in the attestation row. Here is what a reader can actually take out of them for the six codes tested.
| Filer | System | Rows in file | Commercial rates recoverable | Coverage of the six codes |
|---|
Commercial payer rows carrying an actual dollar amount
At Fauquier, across the whole file rather than just the tested codes, 169,018 commercial payer rows carry a rate. 5,761 of them state a dollar, 3.4%. The other 163,257 state a percentage and stop there. UVA contracts the same way and files the opposite: 366,358 commercial rate rows at Haymarket and 1,934,070 at the Medical Center, of which 91.5% and 93.8% state a dollar, even though roughly two thirds to nine tenths of them are priced as a percent of billed charges. The rule asks for a dollar where a dollar can be expressed. Both hospitals attest that they complied. One did the arithmetic for the reader; the other did not.
Method, scope and known defects
Which carriers
Five are shown: Aetna, Anthem and its Blue Cross affiliates, Cigna, UnitedHealthcare and Sentara. Optima is filed under Sentara, since Optima Health was renamed Sentara Health Plans effective January 1, 2024 and is the same company. Smaller networks and rental PPOs that appear in only one or two of these files are excluded, so the comparison holds across all of them.
What the badge on each chip means
It is how many of the nine filers publish a commercial rate for that code. The three inpatient MS‑DRGs reach 9 of 9; the three outpatient CPT codes reach 7 of 9. That is not a coincidence. Across both Bon Secours files, every single commercial dollar amount on record sits on an inpatient DRG row, and neither hospital publishes a commercial rate for any outpatient CPT code at all. Inova and Sentara publish both.
What a hollow dot is
The hospital’s gross charge multiplied by the percentage of billed charges its contract names, and only where the file’s own methodology field says that is what the percentage means. Fauquier prices roughly 85% of its commercial rows this way. A hollow dot is a calculation, not a published price, and a hospital’s actual allowed amount may differ.
Scope
Facility rates only. The radiologist, surgeon, obstetrician and anesthesia components are billed separately and appear in none of these files. Where a hospital lists more than one gross charge for a code, the higher is used, so derived figures are an upper bound. Plan names are reproduced as filed. Government and Medicare Advantage lines are excluded throughout.
Two known defects in the source files
A negotiated rate exceeds the hospital’s own gross charge on 32,073 UVA Haymarket rows and 41,059 UVA Medical Center rows, at a median of 2.1 times the gross charge. A DRG case rate of $101,963.91 sits against a gross charge of $53,372.31 on the same line. No other filer here does it on a single row. And Fauquier records percent‑of‑Medicare figures above 100% in the same column as percent‑of‑charges figures, on 13,832 commercial rows, so only rows whose methodology field reads “Percent of total billed charges” were converted here.
Fringe Theory is independent and unaffiliated. Views expressed are my own and do not represent those of my employer. Nothing here is legal, tax, medical, or investment advice. Figures described as modeled or derived are my own arithmetic from the public sources listed, not disclosed data.
The song
Ask three carriers why their network is the right one and you will get the same answer in three voices. Deeper discounts. Broader access. Better unit cost. The supporting exhibit is a repricing exercise: take twelve to twenty-four months of the employer’s claims, run them through the competing fee schedule, report the difference.
The exercise is arithmetically sound and structurally blind. It holds facility mix constant, so it assumes members keep going where they went. It runs on history, so it assumes no contract in either network renegotiates inside the projection period. And it treats the discount as something the carrier carries with it, the way a buyer carries purchasing power.
The files say otherwise. Median amount actually paid for the identical sepsis admission, same insurer, different building:
| Insurer | Hospitals | Lowest | Highest | Spread |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aetna | 7 | $11,863 · Fauquier Health | $44,754 · UVA Medical Center | 3.8x |
| Sentara Health Plan | 5 | $13,533 · UVA Haymarket | $43,040 · UVA Medical Center | 3.2x |
| Cigna | 5 | $14,288 · Fauquier Health | $39,457 · Inova Fairfax | 2.8x |
| Anthem / BCBS | 6 | $25,878 · Sentara Northern Virginia | $38,118 · Inova Fair Oaks | 1.5x |
| UnitedHealthcare | 6 | $27,478 · Sentara Northern Virginia | $39,287 · UVA Medical Center | 1.4x |
Median allowed amount, MS‑DRG 871, as published by each hospital. Group commercial plans only: exchange and marketplace products, federal employee plans, out-of-state Blues, union supplementals and single-employer plans are all excluded, because this is a question about Virginia employer coverage. The carrier is held constant here; the network product is not, because the nine files do not label HMO, PPO and POS consistently enough to match one to one. Where a carrier files more than one group product at a building the figure averages them. Within a single building the same carrier’s HMO and PPO medians differ by a median of 1.02 times across 30 such pairs, so product mix is part of these spreads and not the whole of them. Nine hospital machine-readable files under 45 CFR 180.50, captured August 20–21, 2026.
The carrier that is cheapest in one building is among the dearest in another, for the same admission, in the same state, in the same year. A discount is not a property of the insurer. It is a property of the insurer at a building, and your exposure to it is a property of where your people go.
The obvious objection, and a way to test it
The first thing anyone should say to that table is that it is not measuring price at all. A sepsis admission at a large academic referral center is a sicker patient than a sepsis admission at a small community hospital. Same DRG, longer stay, more outliers. Of course the number is bigger.
That objection is correct in principle and it deserves better than a caveat, because this dataset happens to contain a way to size it.
Inova Fair Oaks and Inova Fairfax file under one tax ID and publish the same 21,427 rows in the same order, sharing one chargemaster outright. Their negotiated rates are close but not identical. Across the services tested here the two files’ dollars differ by a median of 1.2% and at most 15%, with Anthem and UnitedHealthcare carrying facility-specific carve-outs and the rest matching exactly. So a gap between those two buildings in what was actually paid is mostly not price. It is case mix, length of stay and outliers, very nearly isolated.
Across 15 payer-and-service pairs where both Inova files publish an allowed amount on a group commercial plan, that gap runs to a median of 1.01x, a mean of 1.02x and a maximum of 1.09x [8]. At the top end that is smaller than the rate difference itself, which is the sense in which case mix adds very little here.
Why mockingbirds
Mockingbirds have no song of their own. They repeat what they have heard, convincingly, and they are not lying when they do.
The carrier’s claim has no fixed content, because it describes a relationship between two parties evaluated against a third variable that nobody controls and nobody forecasts.
The hospital’s claim about its community has the same problem in a different key: it is true in the ways it is measured and silent about the ways it is not. The 2013 transaction here took the operating margin from 2.87% to 17.9% while staffing fell by 140, and the same institution kept the doors open in a county that would have felt it if they had closed. Both of those are the record. Neither is the whole of it.
So who wins? On the evidence here, the building wins the admission outright. On outpatient work it depends on whether there is somewhere else to go, and that varies by service. Either way the employer loses whichever argument it was not having. But that is only true while the songs are all anyone has to go on.
Choosing a carrier on its network discount is a bit like choosing a car on what it does to your insurance premium. The math is real, the quote is real, and one at-fault accident makes the whole comparison moot.
Where leverage actually sits
None of this makes the network irrelevant, and I want to be precise rather than contrarian about it.
Run the same nine files a different way. For each service, take one observation per hospital-and-insurer pair, and ask whether hospital identity or insurer identity explains more of the variation in price. On the three inpatient admissions the building explains 48% to 55% and the insurer 10% to 16% [8]. That one holds however it is cut. Drop any single carrier, or any single hospital, and the building still explains several times what the insurer does. On the appendectomy it turns over, 37% insurer against 22% building, but that result is not as solid: drop Anthem and it reverses. The echocardiogram has too few contracts on file to call either way, and I am leaving it out rather than publish a number that will not hold. Group commercial plans only, on the same standard as the table above.
That is not a story about who negotiates harder. It is a story about substitutes. Nobody shops a sepsis admission. The ambulance goes where it goes, and a network without the county’s hospital is not a network. Where an alternative exists the fee schedule should start to matter more than the building, and the appendectomy is the only service here that shows it clearly. On the strength of one service, and one that reverses when a carrier is dropped, I would treat that half as a direction worth testing on your own claims rather than a finding.
Leverage sits wherever the alternative is worst, and it is not distributed evenly. Some employers genuinely do have bargaining power and most do not. A 15,000-life employer concentrated in one metro is a different counterparty from a 200-life employer spread across four states, and pretending otherwise does nobody any favors. The questions below are worth asking in roughly that order, but which ones you can act on scales with your size.
What to run on your own plan
This is testable on any self-funded population without buying anything. The chart, the nine files and a prompt that rebuilds it out of your own facilities sit on the tool page.
- Pull your top ten facilities by paid dollars from your own claims. Not by visit count, by dollars. In most populations that list is short and the top three carry the weight.
- Open each one’s file. Start at
/cms-hpt.txtat the root of the hospital’s domain. It names where that hospital’s machine-readable file lives, and it is the fastest route in. - Read the median allowed amount, not the negotiated rate. Where the median is present, that is what the hospital was paid. Where the count reads “1 through 10,” the figure is thin and should not be quoted.
- Compare that against the discount your renewal deck claims, at the facilities that carry your dollars. A network that buys well at three of your top ten and badly at the other seven is not a better network. It is a better network for somebody else’s referral pattern.
That comparison is the one the repricing exercise cannot make, because it starts from the assumption that the facility mix is fixed. This runs off the hospital’s file rather than your carrier’s because the payer-side Transparency in Coverage files carry contracted rates and nothing else, with no allowed amounts and no volume [9]. The rest of that comparison is in the source manifest.
The file cuts both ways
One more consequence, and it is the one I would watch.
Until this year, what a hospital was actually paid by a given carrier was known to exactly two parties, and each of them knew only their own half. That is no longer true. The file now shows, in the hospital’s own numbers, what every commercial payer at that building settled at.
Which means the next negotiation has a new exhibit, and either side can carry it. A carrier can open the hospital’s file and ask why it is paying more per admission than the carrier one row down. A hospital can open the same file and notice that somebody is paying more than it is getting. Both readings come off the same page.
Nobody has run that play at scale yet, because the allowed-amount columns have only been enforceable since April 1, 2026. But the interesting thing about a disclosure regime is that it does not choose a beneficiary. It just puts the document on the table, and the party who reads it more carefully picks it up.
Four better questions
Not one of these is about the discount.
- Where do your dollars actually go? Paid dollars by facility, ranked by dollars and not by visit count. This is where the money in a self-funded plan actually goes, run one level down at the building. If the reporting will not produce it, that is an answer about what the reporting is for.
- Can you move any of them? Steerage only works if something funds it and somebody navigates. An estimator nobody opens is not a program, and what the funding is worth against your own claims is its own arithmetic. Then the harder version of the same question. Your carrier already knows which facility it pays the most for a given condition and which it pays the least, and it holds quality measures at both ends of that range. Ask what part of that reaches a member at the moment they are choosing, in what form, and how you would know if it had.
- What does your audit clause permit? Scope, sample size, auditor of your choosing, look-back. This one gates most of the others, because you cannot recover what you are not permitted to examine.
- What did the repricing exercise assume about facility mix and about contracts renegotiating inside the projection period? Both assumptions are usually invisible and both are usually wrong.
There are another six worth asking, and they matter more or less depending on how big you are and what your contract already lets you do. They are in the companion tool, which ranks all ten by how many of your own dollars each one can reach against whether you currently have the right to pull it.
The Tail
Fauquier’s file, on the day I pulled it, was still filed under EIN 46‑3107896, the joint venture entity created in 2013. It will be replaced by one filed under a different number, at different rates, negotiated by a system with different leverage. Every repricing exercise run on the old file describes a hospital that will not exist in the same form by the time the plan year it is pricing has begun.
That is the small version of the problem. The larger one is that we keep sharpening the estimate of a number nobody can know, and calling the sharpening a decision.
What I do not know is what replaces it. A spread this wide, now visible to both sides of every contract, has to close somewhere. It could close downward, toward the lowest number on the page. It could close upward, toward the highest, because a hospital reading its own file learns exactly what somebody else was willing to pay. Transparency is symmetric. It does not have a side, and I have not seen anyone make a persuasive case for which direction it settles.
The brutally honest version of this is that a network is only as strong as the hospitals that participate at a price they negotiate, and that is something we will continue to see tested over the next several years.
Naturally, this is not a question I can answer yet, and there is a lot to unpack here, which I will plan to do in a later article.
There is a worksheet for this. The network discount sits in the bottom left corner of it, and the point of the sheet is to work out what belongs in the other three. Benefits Accountability Matrix (BAM)
Sources
- Fauquier Times, “Fauquier Health hospital will merge with Bon Secours Health System,” published August 20, 2026.
- The Chartis Group, “2026 Rural Health State of the State,” published February 10, 2026: 417 rural hospitals vulnerable to closure, 41.2% of rural hospitals operating with negative margins, and 206 rural hospitals closed or converted away from inpatient care since 2010.
- Matthew S. Lewis and Kevin E. Pflum, “Hospital systems and bargaining power: evidence from out-of-market acquisitions,” RAND Journal of Economics 48(3), 2017, pp. 579–610. 81 out-of-market acquisitions between 2000 and 2010; prices at acquired hospitals rose approximately 17% and at nearby competitors approximately 8%, with larger effects where the acquired hospital was relatively small.
- Fauquier Health and LifePoint Hospitals joint venture, closed October 31, 2013. $250 million transaction, LifePoint 80% and the community 20%, approximately $90 million of system debt eliminated, $52.8 million of capital committed over ten years, and more than $100 million capitalizing the PATH Foundation. Reported by FauquierNow, November 2013, and announced by LifePoint Hospitals, November 1, 2013.
- Virginia Health Information report issued February 5, 2019, as reported by FauquierNow and Becker’s Hospital Review: Fauquier Health profit $7.9 million on a 2.87% operating margin in 2013 and $23.7 million on 17.9% in 2017, with full-time equivalent staffing falling from 771 to 631 over the same period, and total revenue of $134.9 million in 2013 rising to $163.7 million in 2014 before declining by 2017. LifePoint acquired the remaining 20% interest in 2018. Note that the reported profit and the reported operating margin do not divide into one another in the earliest year, which indicates the two are different measures, most likely net income against operating income. The margin comparison in the text is margin to margin for that reason, and no figure here is derived by dividing one series into the other.
- Apollo Global Management agreement to acquire LifePoint Health and combine it with RCCH HealthCare Partners, announced July 23, 2018, at $65.00 per share in cash, approximately $5.6 billion including assumed debt.
- Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services, CY 2026 Hospital Outpatient Prospective Payment System and Ambulatory Surgical Center Payment System Final Rule (CMS‑1834‑FC), Hospital Price Transparency policy changes. Median, 10th and 90th percentile allowed amounts and a claim count required where a negotiated charge is a percentage or algorithm, from a lookback of no less than twelve and no more than fifteen months. Effective January 1, 2026, enforcement beginning April 1, 2026.
- Hospital machine-readable files of standard charges posted under 45 CFR 180.50, CMS schema v3.0.0, captured August 20 and 21, 2026: Fauquier Health (file dated July 14, 2026, filed under EIN 46‑3107896); Bon Secours St. Francis Medical Center; Bon Secours Rappahannock General, filed as Chesapeake Hospital LLC; Inova Fair Oaks Hospital; Inova Fairfax Hospital; Sentara Northern Virginia Medical Center, filed as Potomac Hospital Corporation of Prince William; Sentara Martha Jefferson Hospital (all dated April 1, 2026); University of Virginia Medical Center and University of Virginia Haymarket Medical Center (both dated March 24, 2026). The variance decomposition and the same-contract control are my own arithmetic on those files; the method is set out in the source manifest published alongside this piece.
- Congressional Research Service, “Technical Challenges with Private Health Insurance Price Transparency Data,” R48570, June 13, 2025.
Fringe Theory is independent and unaffiliated. Views expressed are my own and do not represent those of my employer. Nothing here is legal, tax, medical, or investment advice. Figures described as modeled or derived are my own arithmetic from the public sources listed, not disclosed data.